The Weekend in Mesquite

I went to the Casa Blanca Hotel in beautiful, dry, Mesquite, Nevada. About 100 quilters attended this meeting. What did I learn? I learned to pack and pack ahead of time and check the garage floor because I left my main project on the floor and had to drive back Friday evening to get it. I did finish the quilt top and I have to quilt it for Linda’s baby shower this weekend.

I met a lot of new people along with other quilters that I knew before. I really had a great time visiting with Victoria Brazzle, unfortunately Victoria is a widow like me. She looked absolutely wonderful. She has joined TOPS (take off pounds sensibly) and has lost over 100 pounds she also has been walking over four miles everyday. She is definitely and inspiration to all. She has a beautiful quilt store in Pahrump, Nevada.
Check out her website: http://www.thequilteddragon.com.

I also met Christa who has a beautiful blog page and a quilt store at http://www.christaquilts.com. Christa has a contest on her page asking what would be your dream quilting retreat, that was an easy question. I would love to go to Paris, France (not Paris,Texas) to learn about all the beautiful French toile fabrics.

I know that I can blog, quilt, and golf because of the people I have met and how they have inspired me.

I had planned to golf in Mesquite, but the courses were in the process of reseeding and the ones that were open were cart-path only.

I got home yesterday afternoon, and met my two best buddies at Sienna Italian Restaurant. I had made them pillowcases out of metallic batiks. They were so surprised that I actually could make something like that. I guess what they don’t know about me is that I could easily put a million miles on my sewing machine.

Okay navy man, you said to dam the torpedoes and I did!

Just Shari, The Junior Senior Lady

One thought on “The Weekend in Mesquite”

  1. Trivia: Those “torpedoes” Rear Admiral Farragut was shouting about back in 1864 during the battle for Alabama’s Mobile port were not the torpedoes that we think of today as used on submarines. Torpedoes back then were explosive mines anchored to the sea floor floating in wait for a ship to strike them.

Leave a Reply

